Princess Flying Boat

Read the forum code of contact

Member for

18 years 1 month

Hello people,
I'm new to forum posting but I need a little help with some research and I thought it's worth a try to post a question here as you are all aviation minded.
I'm an Aviation artist/illustrator and I'm starting a project on the Princess flying boat as a small tribute to my Grandfather who I know worked on this giant back in the 1950's. He passed away before I was old enough to ask him about it and -any photo's or documentation have been lost over time.

Does anyone have any good photos of the Saunders-Roe Princess Flying Boat out there?, or know of any good books on the subject?.
I'm particularly interested in colour photo's or line drawings, anything that can give me a feel for the size, construction or even just that period of British Flying Boat design. It all helps to bring a painting alive.

I've recently been down to the Isle of Wight to get a feel for the place but I need some more technical information on the Boat itself.
Any help would be gratefully received.

If people are interested I'll post a progress report on the painting itself as things develop.(I have an example of my work on the cover of this months Flypast Magazine for an idea of how my paintings look).

www.paulcrossart.com

Original post

Member for

20 years

I wish you luck on this.

The Princess was a beautiful aircraft.

:)

Member for

18 years 10 months

know of any good books on the subject?

There's always the relevant Putnam's - Saunders and Saro Aircraft since 1917 - if you can find it. Has some interesting pics and info in it. Best of luck with the project; the Princess was an impressive if ill-conceived aircraft which doesn't appear in artwork form very often. Please update via the Forum if it goes ahead

Member for

18 years 11 months

Do you know "From Sea To Air", by AE Tagg & RL Wheeler ?

Member for

19 years 9 months